If I Were You

From Bestselling and Eight-Time Christy Award–Winning Author Lynn Austin Comes a

Remarkable Novel of Sisterhood and Self-Discovery Set against the Backdrop of WWII

1950. In the wake of the war, Audrey Clarkson leaves her manor house in England for a fresh start in America with her young son. As a widowed war bride, Audrey needs the support of her American in-laws, whom she has never met. But she arrives to find that her longtime friend Eve Dawson has been impersonating her for the past four years. Unraveling this deception will force Audrey and Eve’s secrets—and the complicated history of their friendship—to the surface.

1940. Eve and Audrey have been as different as two friends can be since the day they met at Wellingford Hall, where Eve’s mother served as a lady’s maid for Audrey’s mother. As young women, those differences become a polarizing force . . . until a greater threat—Nazi invasion—reunites them. With London facing relentless bombardment, Audrey and Eve join the fight as ambulance drivers, battling constant danger together. An American stationed in England brings dreams of a brighter future for Audrey, and the collapse of the class system gives Eve hope for a future with Audrey’s brother. But in the wake of devastating loss, both women must make life-altering decisions that will set in motion a web of lies and push them both to the breaking point long after the last bomb has fallen.

Endorsements

“Lynn Austin is a master at exploring the depths of human relationships. Set against the backdrop of war and its aftermath, If I Were You is a beautifully woven page-turner.”

Susan Meissner

Bestselling author of Secrets of a Charmed Life and The Last Year of the War

“With an intriguing premise and excellent writing, If I Were You is sure to garner accolades and appeal to fans of novels like The Alice Network and The Nightingale.”

Julie Klassen

Author of The Bridge to Belle Island

If I Were You tells the story of a Downton Abbey–like friendship between Audrey, from the nobility, and Eve, a servant at Audrey’s manor house...Bold and brilliant and clever, If I Were You will delight Lynn’s multitude of fans and garner many new ones.”

About the Author

Lynn Austin has sold more than one and a half million copies of her books worldwide. A former teacher who now writes and speaks full-time, she has won eight Christy Awards for her historical fiction and was one of the first inductees into the Christy Award Hall of Fame. One of her novels, Hidden Places, was made into a Hallmark Channel Original Movie. Lynn and her husband have three grown children and make their home in western Michigan.

LynnAustin.org